Whether you’re only after your DVM, or if you’re looking to add more acronyms to your name, it all starts with education and training. Accredited veterinarians are the ones letting the public know that they are knowledgeable, up-to-date with current advancements in veterinary medicine, caring and prepared to care, exam and treat their pets or animals.

In February of 2007, the National Veterinary Accreditation Program came to an agreement on a proposal made in June of 2006 about Category I and Category II Accreditations. The first proposal seemed unclear, which led the NVAP to refer to Category I veterinarians as those who are able to perform accredited duties on nonregulated animals, classifying hedgehogs and primates as companion animals. As for Category II veterinarians, they would treat animals such as birds, which have been classified as Category II animals. Zoo veterinarians for example, would be Category II veterinarians.

Below is a list of the accreditations a veterinarian can receive. Please be reminded that you may or may not see an accreditation you’ve earned or have interest in.

DVM- Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine

RVT- Registered Veterinary Technician

BVSc and AH- Bachelor of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry

MS- Master of Science

MA- Master of Arts

CVPM- Certified Veterinary Practice Manager

ALAT- Assistant Laboratory Animal Technician

LAT- Laboratory Animal Technician

LATG- Laboratory Animal Technologist

CMG- Certified Master Groomer

FRCVS- Fellow of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons

VMD- Veterinary Medicines Directorate (UK)